Stand Up For Your Writes

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been about a week short of a month since my last post…get over it.

Ok, now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I’ve decided that there has to be a more efficient way to keep up with posts than the systematic status quo.  I get these awesome ideas about cool things to write about on the daily.  But, instead of actually WRITING something, I keep a list of topics/blog starters.  The list has gotten into the double digits yet nothing is getting written.  That’s the problem with lists; they give us something easy to do instead of actually getting something done but, I digress. I’ve decided that the best way to get these thoughts out to you beautiful people is to just write when the spirit moves or grooves me.

So, here we go…

I met a little chica tonight.  Now, in a city like ATL, meeting a chica isn’t much to write about.  They come a dime a dozen as the female to male ratio is something like 4:1 and, for the most part, the women here take good care of themselves.  First look hot is quite prevalent in this town.  But, back to my point, I met my Spottieottiedopaliscious angel at the bar while I was out for a buddy’s “welcome back to civilization after being bed-ridden post surgery for a month” outing.  A bit of a stretch? Yeah, I think so, but I wasn’t going to NOT go out so out I went.  I spent the majority of the night just laying low, enjoying my Crown on the rocks (all thriller, no filler) and engaging in some serious people watching.  Then, an hour after I told myself I was going home, I found myself sitting at the bar and here she comes plopping herself down right next to me.  Cutie and I start talking and, low and behold, we have a situation on our hands!

So the chica and I are talking about this that and the third and a few thoughts cross my mind.  1. She’s cute. 2. We have a lot in common. 3. Holy hell, I’m moving in approximately a month. 4. Where do I know this girl from?  Let’s pay attention to both points 3 & 4.  Yes, I’m moving to Austin, Te-has in a month.  Great life choice but it makes these conversations a bit, well…awkward.  Point numero quatro, it’s almost inevitable that you’re going to get some repeats in a small town like ATL.  There are a shit-ton of people here but I find that, moreover, you see the same people out and about on a fairly regular basis.  Outside of this notion, I felt as if I hadn’t just seen this girl before but we had actually had some interaction on some level at some time before tonight (pardon my vagueness). We chat, we laugh, we exchange numbers agree that I am to call her at the end of the weekend so we can get together next week–all of which is A-O-K in my book (we’ll let her know that I’m skipping town when it becomes absolutely necessary).  Now here’s where the tricky part comes in…

I get home and type her first name into the ol’ Facebook machine.  Granted, all I know is the first name, where she went to school and what region of the U.S.A. she is from. But, low and behold, as I type in her first name and first name only, a profile pops up with 8 F.I.Cs. (friends in common). Sink. My. Battleship. She’s friends with some friends on mine and it clicks where I’ve (briefly) met her before.  So, naturally, I text my buddy and request that he calls me in the morning as I want/need background information.  But a few minutes later, I decide that, “you know what, Alvin, what does it matter?  All you’re going to get is what he thinks/knows about her and that’s not fair.  Everyone should have a chance to make a first impression and she made a great one tonight.”  So that’s where we stand.  Tomorrow morning, my buddy is going to call me inquiring about who the chica was and I’m not going to tell him.  I like playing a little get to know you–it doesn’t happen nearly enough because of situations just like this.  It might come up in a conversation between her and he someday but right now it doesn’t matter.  I don’t need to friend her, stalk her, and ultimately judge her by what’s on the interweb.  Nor do I need to crucify or praise her for what my buddy says about her. I will allow this to mature organically and just see what happens.

Until then, I’ll write it on my own time…

Leave a Reply

