We’re Over Here Winning…EVERYTHING

Posted: May 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

Let’s catch up, shall we…

The past few weeks have been filled with a fair amount of joy and excitement.  Basically, a lot of WINNING.  My kickball team won our park championship 2 weekends ago and will compete in city tournament next weekend.  My ALTA (tennis) team has advanced to the city finals this weekend (9am @ Blackburn Tennis Center in Brookhaven, if you’re interested).


And to top it all off, I graduated and “got my letters” last night.  I’m a “master” of business administration, or whatever that means.  I’m not sure what it is but lately I’ve been feeling rather jaded about accomplishments.  In regards to the graduation thing, I’ve received a fair amount of congratulatory support over the past 2 weeks.  It has all been greatly appreciated but for some reason I just can’t get jazzed up about it. But let me back up and tackle this in some sort of systematic order.

How about a weekend review first? I went out with some childhood friends on Friday night.  When I say childhood I mean “we grew up in the same neighborhood and went to elementary and middle school together” childhood.  That was fun…too much fun, actually.  I woke up on Saturday morning with a vicious hangover/still partially inebriated and had to play a quarterfinal  tennis match at 10:30.  I didn’t play my best tennis and almost put my team in jeopardy of losing and failing to advance to the semifinal round. Luckily, my teammates bailed me out and we were able to get the overall team victory.  I can’t even explain how ashamed I was of myself.  Going out hard the night before a match, in particular a playoff match, is something that I just don’t do.  We all depend on each other to put forth our best effort each Saturday and I let my partner (Mike D) and my team down.  So, on Saturday night, I promised them I would stay in and be ready to roll on Sunday.  While I was home by 10:30 on Saturday night, I was able to check out the Kickboard Kouture trunk-show at Aurum Lounge.  My buddy does marketing for them so anytime I can show some support I try to do so.

So that brings us to Sunday, which was also mother’s day.  The whole family came to the city to watch us play the semifinal match at Ansley Park and we dropped the hammer on those dudes.  Complete redemption for myself and Mike D as we went straight wax-on, wax-off on some crafty old guys. And that brings me to my first point of dissonance: tennis. This isn’t the first time our team has been successful.  We won the city championship last summer and are competing in the state tournament in 2 weeks down in Macon.  But I will say of all the good fortune that has come my way over the past few weeks, I take the most pride in the tennis.  It has been a part of my life for a very long time so I relate to being a tennis player more than almost anything I can think of.

Ok, kickball.  Team Baby Nate ran through the Saturday Lynwood league like Freddie Krueger in the rainforest.  I use this comparison as a player on the team we destroyed in the finals described playing us as “running into a buzz-saw.”  Yep, that’s what happened. With an undefeated record and a run differential of 85-12 over 10 games, I’d say everyone got a piece of the buzz-saw known as Baby Nate. We will be taking our show to the city tournament on May 21st and looking to serve any and everyone who gets in our way.  But, again, a tad bit melancholy as EVERY TEAM WE PLAYED WAS AWFUL.  Not 1 or 2 of them but all of them.  I’ve played on some good kickball teams before and against some pretty good competition, but I can’t gauge how good this squad really is because of how poor our opponents have been.  I guess we’ll find out in a few weeks but I will say I love playing and hanging out with this crew.  This has by far been the most fun I’ve had playing kickball in a very long time.  NATE’S RISE UP!

Last but not least: graduation.  I heard a statistic yesterday that less than 10% of the US population has earned  masters degree.  So, from that standpoint, I have done something special and should be proud of myself.  The downside is that my friends/colleagues/referent group is full of people who have masters degrees.  That less than 10% is closer to 40% in  my world so I’m having a tough time figuring out if or how special the accomplishment really is.  I’m sure in time it will all figure itself out and I’ll be really glad that I did it so check back with me in a few months. And in my head, I’ll just remember graduation looking like this:

With that being said, the next few weeks jam packed with exciting events.  ALTA city finals this weekend, USTA State tournament next weekend and Mike and Angela’s wedding on Memorial Day weekend. Then the summer starts and next thing you know we’ve gone from 90 days down to 60.  I’m like Leonardo, catch me if can!

Comments
  1. Mitch says:

    Buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Sawwwwwwwwwwwww

Leave a Reply

