90 Days of Summer

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Helloooo world, it’s your boy Alvin! (in Sway’s voice)

This is my first attempt at a personal blog and I’d like to personally thank my new friend Alexandra (follow her blog: established in 1984) for the motivation. Although I’ve written for Walk It Out as well as One Fish Bowl, this one (I think) will be all about me, my travels and my experiences.  Tweets and Facebook status updates are like snacks.  Consider this the full meal. I hope you follow along and enjoy the ride.

So today is Friday, May 5 and I’m in unchartered territory.  I turned in my last grad school paper yesterday and will be receiving my Masters in Business Administration from Kennesaw State University on Tuesday, May 10.  I’ve been told this is a big accomplishment but it almost feels anti-climatic.  I mean, I’ve graduated before–twice by my best account.  Moreover, it seems like graduation is much-to-do about nothing, really.  Don’t get me wrong, I do feel that the symbolization of accomplishing something is great and meaningful but I don’t feel that a ceremony is necessary this go ’round.  Quite honestly, if it weren’t for my mother vehemently insisting that she wants to see it,  there’s no way you’d get me to drive up I-75 in rush hour traffic on a Tuesday afternoon but I digress.  I will say that it does feel good to finish something that I started roughly 18 months ago.  Way to go, me.

***I’ve got 6 extra tickets if anyone wants to come sit through this with me***

But then what happens after graduation?  I’ve got a job teaching tennis now and I really do enjoy it.  Do I see myself doing it forever? No. Do I see myself doing it after this summer? Probably not.  But I do see myself giving the students everything I have while I’m there.  With that being said, my lease also ends this coming August and I’ve decided not to renew.  I don’t really know where I’m going or what I’m doing after that but I have opened myself up to any and all opportunities, even if it means leaving ATL.  This is where I’m from and I do love it here but I think my clock has expired and it might be time to see something new.  I’ll keep you posted on that one.

With that being said, here we are, roughly 3 months out from what could possibly be my grand exit from the place I call home.  So I vow to make this the best summer yet.  Better than 2002 (which was pretty awesome), better than 2004 (we got after it that summer), and even better than 2009.  Here’s to weekends that start on Wild Card Wednesday and end on Sunday Fun-day.  Here’s to great times with old friends and hopefully making some new ones along the way.

90 days of summer start…now.

AO

Comments
  1. Tatiana Greenhill says:

    Wow Alvin! Very proud of you! I always knew you were going to be successful so I wish you the best of luck. Hope you enjoy your summer!

  2. Mitch says:

    I’ve bookmarked this page, looking forward to following along and making an apperance or 2

Leave a Reply

